Child Labour

The Stranger

The car suddenly came to a halt ;

I looked around ;

My eyes caught his innocent face ,

Doe-eyed little stranger selling magazines.

He came towards me,I turned my face

Don’t know what overpowered me?

The realisation of being blessed with a better life or the harsh reality of the world.

Where one gives up their innocence for survival,

Not much I could do – I cursed myself for being so helpless.

What stopped me?

I still don’t have an answer to that.

So,as the light turned green.

I went on to reach my destination

Along with the imprint of his face

In my mind.

Leave a Reply

